Know about NITI Aayog and It’s Functions

Introduction- The NITI Aayog is a policy think tank of the Government of India, established with the aim to achieve sustainable development goals with cooperative federalism by fostering the involvement of State Governments of India in the economic policy-making process using a bottom-up approach.

Earlier NITI Aayog used to know as Planing Commission (Yojna Aayog ) started in 15 March 1950 by Shri Pandit Jawahar lal Neharu (Headquarters: New Delhi), but now a days it is renamed as NITI Aayog . The Planning Commission was an institution in the Government of India, which formulated India’s Five-Year Plans, among other functions. In his first Independence Day speech in 2014, Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced his intention to dissolve the Planning Commission.

About NITI Aayog :-
Reformed: 1 January 2015
Headquarters: New Delhi
Agency executives: Narendra Modi, (Chairperson) Rajiv Kumar, (Vice Chairperson) Amitabh Kant, (CEO)
Objectives: Foster involvement and participation in the economic policy-making process by the State Governments of India

Functions of NITI Aayog :-

  • To evolve a shared vision of national development priorities sectors and strategies with the active involvement of States in the light of national objectives.
  • To foster cooperative federalism through structured support initiatives and mechanisms with the States on a continuous basis, recognizing that strong States make a strong nation.
  • To develop mechanisms to formulate credible plans at the village level and aggregate these progressively at higher levels of government.
  • To ensure, on areas that are specifically referred to it, that the interests of national security are incorporated in economic strategy and policy.
  • To focus on technology upgradation and capacity building for implementation of programes and initiatives.
  • To undertake other activities as may be necessary in order to further the execution of the national development agenda, and the objectives mentioned above.
  • The NITI Aayog is the successor in interest to the Planning Commission.

Mr. Ravi Kr. Mahour, Assistant Professor, School of Agricultural Sciences, Career Point University, Kota

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *